The scout leader training programme

The training programme consists of a number of modules covering different skills need as a leader.

The scheme consists of two parts:

Learning: To gain or improve the knowledge and skills you need to develop for your role.

Validation: To check you have the skills you need.

Ongoing Learning

There are 3 mandatory modules that need to be current whilst a Scout Leader.

These are:

Safeguarding – Needs refreshing every 5 years

Safety – Needs refreshing every 5 years

First Aid – Needs refreshing every 3 years

Safeguarding & Safety are included in Module#1, and safety is also covered by Module 17.

There are separate e-learning courses on the Scouts Web site:


select: Start the safety ongoing training e-learning. At the bottom of the page.

Safeguarding:  Select:

Click here to enter 'Safeguarding Awareness online training' at the end of the page.

For both please print completion certificates produced at the end, and forward to Training Advisor or Training Manager.

First Aid – This has to be a course – either a Scouts First Response, or course covering all the same topics. – If you have a First Aid at Work type certificate, this needs a top-up to cover Child specific issues – available by e-learning.

Course for 2018 in District are currently being planned.

© 2016 Rotherfield District. Scouting images courtesy of the Scout Association
The views expressed on this website are not necessarily those of the Scout Association.

Rotherfield District